Il consiglio dei professionisti

No Punishment for Garcia

It looks as though Sergio Garcia has escaped punishment after being investigated over a possible breaching of the rules while playing at the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship.

The Spaniard, 34, looked to be in hot water when tournament officials were alerted to an incident on the 18th green during the first round, with video footage suggesting Garcia had tapped down something on the line of his putt.

If Garcia had been found guilty of tapping down a spike mark, it would have constituted infringement of the rules and he would have been immediately disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

However, the man who currently sits 10th in the World Rankings went back out onto the final green with European Tour chief referee John Paramor on Friday morning and insisted he had tapped down a repaired pitch mark, to which Paramor was satisfied with Garcia’s explanation and took the decision that no further action would be taken, sparing the player a two-shot penalty.

A European Tour statement was later read out, which simply said: "John Paramor is satisfied with Sergio's version of the matter and that is the end of the issue."

Sergio is currently struggling for form at the event and has taken a pop shot at the poor quality of rough on the course, upon which he injured his shoulder during a pro-am event prior to the start of the event.